Job Hunting

A challenge with moving is finding a new job. I have been lucky enough to be able to stay home with the kids for the past 3 years. However with our upcoming move, the cost of living is more expensive, and my husband’s internship won’t be a paid position. This means I will have to find a job to be able to keep a roof over our heads and have food on the table. I have quite a few skills, and I have gained experience, but I don’t have much job experience. I became discouraged as I filled out my last job application. “May we contact your last employer?” No, because I got fired because of a family emergency. “May we contact the employer before that?” No, because there was an oversight of budget, and they had to lay off workers to balance the budget. That’s my curse of being mediocre. I’m not especially good at one thing, and I don’t have a specified passion. So what can I do for a job? I would love to work for a non-profit organization and feel like I’m giving back to the community. But most likely I will be flipping burgers, regardless of the fact that I have a bachelors degree. Then there’s the struggle of scheduling. My husband’s internship is during the day, so I can’t get a day job, or else, all of my paycheck will go to daycare. My husband is a deep sleeper, so I can’t do graveyard shifts, because someone has to wake up in the middle of the night to take care of the kids if they wake up. So I’m limited to 6PM-2AM. Finding that kind of work schedule is tricky. Hopefully I can find something soon. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

