Laundry Day!

Ok I’ll admit. The title is a little misleading. In our household, every day is laundry day! 

Every once in a while, I reminisce about the good old days when it was just my husband and me, and we could get away with only doing laundry once a week… Those days are gone! 

Now, I have a never ending pile of clothes. My husband is excellent at helping with the laundry by putting the clothes in the washer and dryer and bringing them upstairs. But he leaves the clothes for me to fold…I hate folding clothes!

With each new addition to our family, we have had to be more and more organized. I’ll admit that I’m not as organized as I would like to be, but I have implemented something that has made my life a whole lot easier.

Sort clothes as they’re dirtied, in each child’s own baskets, hampers, or laundry bags.


We started out sorting the clothes as lights, darks, and towels. But with more kids, we began to separate each of their clothes in their own laundry bags.

The logic behind this is that the bags can go in the wash with the clothes, and then when the clothes are clean, the clothes can go back in the laundry bag, and then folded and put away all in the same dresser or closet. This eliminates the step of sorting when the clothes are clean.

I still have to fold the clothes, but at least I can focus on one kid’s clothes at a time!

3 thoughts on “Laundry Day!

Leave a Reply

