Count Your Blessings!


Anyone who knows me and my family, knows that we have experienced quite the adventure for the past year and a half! We have had challenge after challenge! But it’s important to remember to identify the good things that have happened.

The other day, I decided to do a little writing therapy. I wrote down all of the negative thoughts I had been having, so it was no longer bouncing around in my head like a ping pong ball. I wrote a list of everything that has happened in the past year and a half, and most of it was negative. This list included:

  • Moving three times, one of them being across the country.
  • Being unemployed, living off of student loans and maxing out credit cards.
  • Living in an apartment we couldn’t afford.
  • Having a death in the extended family.
  • Finding out I was pregnant.
  • Potty training my oldest.
  • A 4am job.
  • Challenges associated with being a first year teacher.
  • Paperwork involved in buying a house.
  • Being first time homeowners.
  • Adjusting to four kids.
  • My husband dealing with difficult people at work.
  • Starting work outside the home only six weeks after my fourth child was born.
  • Depression.
  • Anxiety.
  • Potty training my second oldest.

 

I finished writing down my list, and wondered, “How did we survive?”

Then I started to write down a list of all of the positive things that have happened, and it brought me to tears!

  • We lived in an excellent community full of wonderful supportive people who took us in, as if we were family!
  • Someone paid part of our rent.
  • We didn’t go hungry!
  • My husband graduated.
  • Someone helped pay for the moving truck.
  • We were given the opportunity to get back on our feet.
  • We were able to pay all of our bills.
  • We had wonderful memories as we went on family outings.
  • Morning walks with my oldest on her way to preschool.
  • The opportunity for my kids to spend time with their grandparents.
  • Growing a garden.
  • Seeing the joy on my kids’ faces when they have finally figured out potty training!
  • A house that fell into our laps! (Not literally, that would hurt! :D)
  • No complications with the pregnancy, despite all of the stress!
  • Healthy baby!
  • Beautiful flowering plants in our landscaping.
  • Someone gave us gift cards, which assisted in some expenses for the kids.
  • We have made some good friends along the way!

 

We don’t always have control over what happens to us in our lives. But we do have control over how we react to our challenges. We can choose to be negative, bitter, and miserable. Or we can choose to see the good in each day, and find joy, no matter what we’re faced with. In retrospect, everything that has happened is exactly what needed to happen. The good, the bad, the ugly… it has all shaped us into who we have become, and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

 

Leave a Reply

